The Duke of Edinburgh Award

What is The Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award?
The Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award is the world’s leading youth achievement Award and equips young people for life in over 140 countries and territories across the globe.

Through non formal education, the Award can play a critical role in a young person’s personal development. 

What is involved?
The Award is comprised of three levels and four sections. Participants complete all four sections at each level in order to achieve their Award. 

At Gold level, participants also complete a Residential Project.

The three levels to the Award:
Bronze: for those over 14 years. 6months minimum participation.
Silver: for those over 15 years. 12months minimum participation
Gold: for those over 16 years. 18 months minimum participation

The four sections of the Award:


Participants volunteer in their communities, make a positive contribution to society and demonstrate social responsibility.

Physical Recreation
Encourages young people to improve their fitness and performance and enjoy healthy lifestyles for good mental and physical well being.

Enables participants to develop their talents, broaden their abilities, increase their self‐confidence and improve their employ ability.

Adventurous Journey
Young people discover a spirit of adventure and gain a deeper understanding of the environment and the great outdoors.

And at Gold only:
Residential Project

Participants broaden their experience by staying in an unfamiliar environment with other young people, taking part in a worthwhile project.

Click HERE for official website.